january 23, 2017

i was raised by a single mom,
a fiercely independent single mom who,
and she still does at the age of 60,
will build, fix, create, remodel, and rip apart
no matter how many times i tell her
“sit your ass down!”

i was raised by a single mom,
a beautiful machine that never broke who,
despite having a father in my life for
far longer than most can say,
was always covered in sweat, coated in grass,
sawdust sprinkled in her hair while simultaneously,
wearing her pantsuits and working to support us.

i see her in myself more times than not,
the way i have to do everything on my own
because i don’t trust anyone to do it for me
or maybe the way i’m terrified of commitment
because that means i have to depend on someone else.
in my mind, in my heart, in my soul.
sometimes i just see her in my smile.

i was raised by a single mom,
a phoenix constantly rising from her ashes who,
and she’ll say it’s a curse,
made me the person i am; who
is the reason i’m more than the phoenix
i’m the fucking fire.
pe

Leave a Reply

